Tutorial: Safari french tip

Recently I posted some pics of a design I did ages ago that I thought was very office-appropriate due to the neutral colors used, but at the same time fun and super-easy to do. I acutally got the idea for this design from kairedelysart on youtube, switched up the colors a bit and the safari french tip was born! Why safari french tip? When my boyfriend saw the design for the first time, he said it looks like the hoofs of some exotic animal :p well, i suppose so…

Here were the items i used to create the design:

– base coat and top coat by OPI

– taupe nail polish (200 From Dust to Dawn by Catrice)

– white nail polish (103 by Seventeen Cosmetics)

– dark brown nail art pen (30 by Orkide)

– large dotting tool

 

After applying a base coat, apply two coats of the taupe polish

Next, create a french tip with a black or a dark brown nail art pen.

 

 

This is a great design to practice your french tip skills, as the tip doesn’t have to be perfect! We’ll be covering it up later with white dots 🙂 I acually messed up my tip on my right thumb, but it’s ok 🙂

Next, we’ll be creating the dots. Take a scrap sheet of paper, dab a small amount of the white nailpolish on it, and get your largest dotting tool ready.

The tool I used here was acually sold as a paper-embossing tool in the hobby section at my local euro store, and it was like a euro for four different sizes. Super-bargain, considering dotting tools cost around 2 euros each at the nail art counters!

To make a symmetrical “hoof”, dip the dotting tool into the nailpolish and place one large dot in the middle of your nail, on the french tip line.

Next, place two smaller dots on both sides of the larger dot, along the tip line.

Finally, add two even smaller dots at the edges of the nail.

Repeat this process on the rest of your nails:

Wait 10-15 minutes for the design to dry, then appy a top coat and you’re done! 😀

Here are more pics of the design:

 

This design would also look awesome with other colors–if you try any out, let me know how it worked out for you! XOXO

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Quick update: office nails « Furry Fury Nail Art

Leave a comment